Host city

The host city of this year’s summer school is Luxembourg-City, the capital city of the only Grand Duchy in the world; the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Because of its geographical location, multilingualism, and its historical position in the process of European integration, Luxembourg is often referred to as the capital of Europe. Even though Luxembourg is the second smallest country in Europe, it houses several important European institutions, has a population made up of more than 170 nationalities, and offers an impressive blend of theatre and museums, UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and architectural gems.

For must-visits and travel inspiration for during your visit, see the video below or click here.


Founded in 2003, the University of Luxembourg is the only public university in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The University of Luxembourg ranks 12th in the Times Higher Education (THE) Young University Rankings 2018, and is among the 250 best universities of the Times Higher Education (THE) World Ranking 2018–2019.

The Summer School will be held at the Kirchberg Campus, located in the heart of the business district of Luxembourg-City. The campus is well-located and easily accessible from the airport (a 20-minute bus ride) as well as the city center (a 15-minute tram ride). All public transport in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is free. More information on public transport can be found here.